EXSS Impact – Past, Present and Future

It is the time of year where we have the opportunity to reflect on our past and look forward to our future in Exercise and Sport Science. Throughout our department’s history we’ve had many outstanding faculty members who laid the foundation for current EXSS faculty and students. We will recognize and remember several of these impactful individuals during the upcoming weeks through various departmental events and awards.

blythOn Wednesday April 8, 2015 we will host the annual “Carl S. Blyth Lecture” in Exercise and Sport Science. The late Carl Blyth was a driving force in the field of sport injury research. His work had a tremendous impact that lead to improved performance and a dramatic reduction in sports-related deaths and injuries throughout the country. Specifically, his efforts resulted in the reduction of heat stress-related deaths in football and the requirement that all football players wear helmets that meet specified safety standards. In addition to his impactful research, he served many important roles in our department as he directed the Applied Physiology Laboratory from 1957 to 1977 and served as department chair from 1970 to 1977. Dr. Blyth’s impact extended beyond our department and university as he also served on the research task force of the Council on Physical Fitness and was past president of the American College of Sports Medicine. Dr. Blyth’s impact is still seen today as many of our faculty and student continue his work to make sports safe for all.

We are proud to honor his memory and achievements during this year’s Carl S. Blyth Lecture that will feature Dr. Brian Hainline as our keynote speaker. Dr. Hainline serves as the Chief Medical officer of the NCAA. His lecture will explore his personal and institutional search for trust in sport.

hyattAt the onset of the Blyth Lecture we will award the “2015 Ronald W. Hyatt Scholarship” and celebrate the memory and achievements of another impactful faculty member in EXSS. Dr. Hyatt had a profound impact on our students and faculty for over 40 years. Known to most as “Doc Hyatt”, his professional areas of interest were many and included: professional preparation in teacher education, history of physical education and sport, the literature of sport, and the history of the Olympics. His historical knowledge of physical education and sport was substantial and was emphasized by his serving as the Director of the Program for Public Policy in Sport at UNC. Doc Hyatt’s impact beyond UNC was substantial as he served two terms as president of the North Carolina Alliance for Athletics, Health, Physical Education and Dance, and one term as president of the Southern District of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education and Dance. Many recognized his impact, as he is one of the most highly decorated EXSS faculty members as nine different organizations have presented him with over 25 different honors and awards.  They included the C. Knox Massey Award for Distinguished Service from UNC, the EXSS Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, and the “Carolina Priceless Gem” award from the UNC Athletic Department, in 2000, 2002, and 2005, respectively.  Dr. Hyatt was the 2004 recipient of the highest civilian honor that can be granted in the state of North Carolina, “The Order of the Long Leaf Pine”. We are excited to recognize this year’s Hyatt Scholarship recipient this week as this award goes to a rising senior who is poised to make an EXSS Impact.

Coach_Pat_Earey_Chapel_Hill_Swim_TeamTo recognize our outstanding senior student who is ready to make an impact on society we have thePatrick F. Earey Award” . This award is named in honor of longtime faculty member, Patrick Earey, who was a professor in our department from 1957 to 1987. During his tenure, Dr. Earey taught health education and safety courses and also served in a dual capacity as the varsity swim coach or UNC’s swim team from 1957 to 1975. We honor Patrick Earey’s legacy by presenting this award to the member of the graduating class who has exhibited outstanding academic achievement, extracurricular involvement and leadership during their time as an EXSS major.   We are excited to announce the winner of this year’s Earey Award during the Chancellor’s Awards Ceremony on April 22, 2015.

There are many other faculty and students who have had a profound impact on the growth and evolution of EXSS over the years. We are grateful to all of these individuals for the vision and passion to make EXSS great. We are particularly grateful for the efforts of the Drs. Blyth, Hyatt and Earey as they helped lay the foundation for our future.